Nothing Less Than Excellence

Referral Process & Child Study Team Services

 

 

Referral Process
&
Child Study Team Services

Referral Process for a Child Study Team Evaluation

What is a referral?

A referral is a written request for an evaluation that is given to the school district when a child is suspected of having a disability and might need special education services. In most instances, the student suspected of having a disability should first be referred to the Intervention and Referral Services Team. If as a result of the interventions recommended by the team, the student continues to experience difficulties in the general education classroom, the I&RS Team will determine the next course of action which could include amending the Action Plan, determining 504 eligibility, or referring the student to the Child Study Team for evaluation.

How is a student referred for a Child Study Team Evaluation?

Students between the ages of 3 and 21 suspected of having an educational disability may be referred to the Child Study Team for an evaluation. If you believe that your child may have a disability, you may refer your child for an evaluation by submitting a written request to the school district.  The district will only accept and process signed hard copies of referrals.  The district will not accept or process electronic referrals (faxes, emails, phone calls, etc…).

Who can make a referral?

  • I&RS:School staff and/or the building administrator(s) can refer a student to the Child Study Team through their school based Intervention and Referral Service(I&RS)teams. The I&RS teams are building-based, inter-disciplinary teams that meet regularly to develop intervention plans for students experiencing significant academic and/or social/emotional difficulties in the classroom. Once the I&RS has exhausted its resources and determines that additional information may be necessary, or feels that the student may be educationally disabled, the I&RS team forwards a Child Study Team referral to the Assistant Superintendent for Pupil-Special Services. The Assistant Superintendent forwards the request to the school’s Child Study Team who schedules an Initial Planning Meeting with the parent(s), Child Study Team and the student’s teacher(s) to discuss the student’s academic and/or social/emotional difficulties and a possible evaluation for Special Education and Related Services.
  • PARENT(S): Parent(s) may initiate a Child Study Team referral for their child who may be experiencing significant academic and/or social/emotional difficulties in the classroom by contacting the Assistant Superintendent for Pupil- Special Services and forwarding the request in writing.(electronic referrals [faxes, emails, phone calls, etc…referrals will not be accepted)
  • ADMINISTRATORS or OUTSIDE AGENCIES: If a student is experiencing significant academic and/or social/emotional difficulties in the classroom and the intervention plan has been unsuccessful in mitigating these difficulties the Principal, other building administrators or an individual from a state agency may refer a student to the Child Study Team,.

Who are the members of the Child Study Team?

The New Jersey Department of Education requires that the Child Study Team include a school psychologist, a learning disabilities teacher-consultant, and a school social worker. These professionals are all certified and employed directly by the Edison Board of Education.

 

What is the procedure after the referral is made?

Once the referral has been made the Case Manager has twenty (20) calendar days (excluding school holidays) to schedule an Identification Meeting. The necessary personnel expected to attend this meeting would be a social worker, psychologist, learning disabilities teacher-consultant, classroom teacher, speech & language specialist (if the suspected disability included that area or the child was age 3-5) and certainly the parent.

Are students automatically assessed if the request is made?

No. Once a request for a Child Study Team evaluation is made an Initial Planning/Identification Meeting must be scheduled. At that meeting it is determined if a Child Study Team Evaluation is warranted and if so an Evaluation Plan is developed.

If the team determines an evaluation is not warranted, they may refer to the school’s I&RS committee, requesting that the I&RS committee amend the current Action Plan and/or refer the child to the 504 committee.

What is an evaluation?

An evaluation is the process used to determine whether your child has a disability. This process includes a review of any relevant data, and the individual administration of any tests, assessments and observations of your child. For an initial evaluation, at least two child study team members and other specialists, as required or as determined necessary, must participate. A minimum of two assessments of your child are needed to determine eligibility for special education and related services. Each assessment must be conducted by a person who has appropriate training, or who is qualified to conduct the assessment through his or her professional license or certification.

When is an evaluation warranted?

An evaluation is needed when the parent(s), the members of the child study team and your child’s teacher meet and decide that your child may have a disability.

What is the procedure if the student is going to be assessed?

Once it is determined that assessments are necessary an initial evaluation plan is developed and the parent/guardian gives written permission. The district then has ninety (90) days to complete the necessary evaluations. Within the ninety (90) days an Eligibility Conference is scheduled where the evaluations are interpreted and it is determined if the student is eligible for special education and/or related services.

If a student is eligible, does that mean he or she will be in a special education class?

Absolutely not. Before a student receives services an Individual Education Program must be developed and agreed to. In Edison the goal is to have the majority of students who are eligible for special education services to receive the majority of their services within a general education environment and/or classroom.

CHILD STUDY TEAM SERVICES

The Child Study Team (CST) is a group of professionals employed by the Edison Board of Education who provide consultative, evaluative, and prescriptive services to teachers and parents in regard to students who are experiencing school related difficulties.

Who are the members of the Child Study Team?

The members of the Child Study Team, as determined by the New Jersey Department of Education, are a school psychologist, a learning disabilities teacher-consultant and a school social worker.

What are the responsibilities of the school psychologist?

The school psychologist has expertise in determining a child’s level of cognitive and conceptual development. In addition the psychologist is concerned with the emotional status of the student, and how both internal and external factors may affect behavior and performance in school. The school psychologist works with both general education and special education teachers to maximize a student’s potential.

What are the responsibilities of the learning disabilities teacher-consultant?

The learning consultant (LDT-C) is trained to determine the learning styles of students, to determine specific achievement levels in a variety of content areas, and to recommend specific teaching methods and strategies that may benefit a student. This professional is generally called upon to model specific strategies and methods that may benefit students.

What are the responsibilities of the school social worker?

The expertise of the social worker lies in assessing the student relative to the family, the school, and the community. This professional generally gathers information concerning the student’s health, family, and school history as it pertains to the student’s current school functioning. The social worker is also the professional responsible for coordinating community resources on behalf of students and their families.

Who are the Child Study Team members in each of our schools?

Below are the members of the Child Study Team in each of our schools.

Child Study Team Members by School

 

 

NAME

DISCIPLINE

SCHOOL(S)

PHONE

EMAIL ADDRESS

Lauren  Acosta

Psychologist

Washington

732-650-5280

Lauren.Acosta@edison.k12.nj.us

Darlene Agresta

Social Worker

HHMS

732-452-2940

Darlene.Agresta@k12.nj.us

Pam Aurilio

LDTC

John Adams

732-452-2920

Pamela.Aurilio@k12.nj.us

Elissa Both

Social Worker

EELC

732-650-5200 x5294

Elissa.Both@edison.k12.nj.us

Sarah Brennessel

Social Worker

Lincoln

732-650-5270

Sarah.Brennessel@edison.k12.nj.us

Melissa Brandeis

Psychologist

FDR

732-452-2939

Melissa.Bandeis@edison.k12.nj.us

Amy Bruno

Social Worker

Woodbrook

732-452-2901

Amy.Bruno@edison.k12.nj.us

Olivia Cancro

Psychologist

James Monroe

732-452-2901

Olivia.Cancro@edison.k12.nj.us

Tina Carrino

Psychologist

EELC

732-650-5200 x5294

Tina.Carrino@edison.k12.nj.us

Holly Clark

Social Worker

JAMS/WWMS

732-452-2920/

732-452-2870

Holly.Clark@edison.k12.nj.us

Ami Cordaro

LDTC

EELC/EHS

732-650-5200 x5294/

732-650-5200

Ami.Cordaro@edison.k12.nj.us

 

Daniel Cummings

LDTC

JMI

732-452-2960

Daniel.Cummings@edison.k12.nj.us

Lai Danik

Psychologist

MLK

732-452-2980

Lai.Danik@edison.k12.nj.us

Olufemi Francis

LDTC

Lindeneau

732-650-5320

Olufemi.Francis@edison.k12.nj.us

Geena Gladysiewicz

Psychologist

John Marshall

732-650-5370

Geena.Gladysiewicz@edison.k12.nj.us

Kate Gousman

LDTC

JPS

732-452-2800

Kate.Gousman@edison.k12.nj.us

Christopher Hanzely

Psychologist

WWMS

732-452-2870

Christopher.Hanzely@edison.k12.nj.us

Katherine Harrison

Social Worker

TJMS/JPS

732-650-5290/

732-452-2800

Katherine.Harrison@edison.k12.nj.us

Alison Hines

LDTC

John Marshall

732-650-5370

Alison.Hines@edison.k12.nj.us

Mary Ellen Kaulius

LDTC

Menlo

732-452-2910

MaryEllen.Kaulius@edison.k12.nj.us

Sarah Larsen

Psychologist

HHMS

732-452-2940

Sarah.Larsen@edison.k12.nj.us

Ana Mac-Lean

Social Worker

BEN

732-650-5300

Ana.Mac-Lean@edison.k12.nj.us

Lanie Mindlin

Psychologist

OOD

732-452-4900

Lanie.Mindlin@edison.k12.nj.us

Erinn Moane

Psychologist

JMP

732-452-2990

Erinn.Moane@edison.k12.nj.us

Karen O’Reilly

Psychologist

JPS

732-452-2800

Karen.OReilly@edison.k12.nj.us

Janice Rhodes

Psychologist

EHS

732-650-5200

Janice.Rhodes@edison.k12.nj.us

Deanna Russomanno

LDTC

TJMS

732-650-5290

Deanna.Russomanno@edison.k12.nj.us

Shani Sasso

Psychologist

Lincoln

732-650-5270

Shani.Sasso@edison.k12.nj.us

Kasey Torre

Social Worker

OOD

732-452-4900

Kasey.Torre@edison.k12.nj.us

Jaclyn Travis

Psychologist

EHS

732-650-5200

Jaclyn.Travis@edison.k12.nj.us

Maria Villar

Social Worker

EELC

732-650-5200 x5294

Maria.Villar@edison.k12.nj.us

Kelly Wahl

LDTC

OOD

732-452-4900

Kelly.Wahl@edison.k12.nj.us

Melissa Wertz

Social Worker

EHS

732-650-5200

Melissa.Wertz@edison.k12.nj.us

Anna Yang-Chiu

Psychologist

OOD

732-452-4900

Anna.Yang-Chiu@edison.k12.nj.us

 

SPEECH AND LANGUAGE SERVICES

What are Speech and Language Services?

The development of age-appropriate speech and language skills is essential to the learning process and to a student’s social, emotional, and academic growth. Students must be able to comprehend language, express their thoughts and opinions, interact effectively and efficiently with peers and adults, and produce speech which others can easily understand.

The Edison School District provides speech and language services to students ages 3-21 who demonstrate a need to improve their speech and language skills in articulation, language, fluency, or voice disorder in order to achieve academic success.

How are students referred for speech and language services?

Students can be referred for speech and language services by their parents or their classroom teachers if they are concerned about a student’s speech and language proficiency as part of a Child Study Team Evaluation or in isolation. The goal of these services is to help students develop the speech and language skills necessary for positive interpersonal relationships and academic success.

Who provides speech and language services in Edison Public Schools?

The district currently employs 28 speech and language specialists across 18 schools.

 
Speech and Language Specialists
 
STAFF MEMBER SCHOOLS PHONE EMAIL
MICHELE BARASCH WASHINGTON 732-650-5280 Michele.Barasch@edison.k12.nj.us
GINA BELLANCA MENLO PARK 732-452-2910 Gina.Bellanca@edison.k12.nj.us
JENNA CONNORS MARSHALL 732-650-5370 Jenna.Connors@edison.k12.nj.us
ANDREA COWART BEN FRANKLIN 732-650-5300 Andrea.Coward@edison.k12.nj.us
REBECCA CRAWFORD BEN FRANKLIN 732-650-5300 Rebecca.Crawford@edison.k12.nj.us
SHANDA EDWARDS WASHINGTON/
EHS
732-650-5280/
732-650-5200
Shanda.Edwards@edison.k12.nj.us
JAMES FARLEY MARSHALL/
TJMS
732-650-5370/
732-650-5290
James.Farley@edison.k12.nj.us
 JULIE GENOVESE JAMS/
MENLO PARK
732-452-2920/
732-452-2910
Julie.Genovese@edison.k12.nj.us
REBECCA NESTERWITZ HHMS 732-452-2940 Rebecca.Nesterwitz@edison.k12.nj.us
ALLEGRA GREELEY EELC 732-650-5200 X5294 Allegra.Greeley@edison.k12.nj.us
MIRIAM KAFKER MLK/
WOODBROOK
732-452-2980/
732-452-2901
Miriam.Kafker@edison.k12.nj.us
 LISA MASS

LINDENEAU/

WOODBROOK

 

732-650-5320/

732-452-2901

Lisa.Mass@edison.k12.nj.us
JACQUELINE MINDLER FDR 732-452-2939 Jacqueline.Mindler@edison.k12.nj.us
MARISA RUPPEL EELC 732-650-5200 X5294

Marisa.Ruppel@edison.k12.nj.us

CAROLINE SCHARF MLK 732-452-2980 Caroline.Scharf@edison.k12.nj.us
APRIL SCURRY-MOUZON  JMP 732-452-2990 April.Scurry-Mouzon@edison.k12.nj.us
LAURA STANKO MONROE 732-452-2970 Laura.Stanko@edison.k12.nj.us
LAURA STORER JMI 732-452-2960 Laura.Storer@edison.k12.nj.us
 JEFFREY TOBIE EHS/
WWMS
732-650-5200/
732-452-2870
Jeffrey.Tobie@edison.k12.nj.us
LAURA TOSCANO JPS 732-452-2800 Laura.Toscano@edison.k12.nj.us
MARY WALWORTH MONROE 732-452-2800 Mary.Walworth@edison.k12.nj.us
JENNIFER WANDRAS LINCOLN 732-650-5270 Jennifer.Wandras@edison.k12.nj.us
MARLA WEIN LINDENEAU 732-650-5320 Marla.Wein@edison.k12.nj.us
SHELLEY ZAKIM EELC 732-650-5200 X5294 Shelley.Zakim@edison.k12.nj.us
 
 
 
 OCCUPATIONAL & PHYSICAL THERAPY

What is Occupational Therapy?

Occupational Therapy is a related service which is designed to help students within a school setting who are showing an educational related difficulty, which impairs his/her ability to function in the school environment. Occupational Therapists use purposeful activity to facilitate a student’s active participation in the areas of self-care, academic and/or vocational pursuits, as well as play and leisure activities. Using direct and indirect services, as well as assistive technology and environmental modifications, school occupational therapists collaborate with parents, teachers, and other educational staff to help implement a child’s program. The goal of services is to assist a student to function well within the school setting.

What is Physical Therapy?

Physical Therapy is a related service, which is designed to help students access their school environment and participate safely and to the best of their ability in their academic curriculum. School physical therapists address functional limitations such as difficulties with mobility, transitions or gross motor skills, as well as interventions that address impairments that contribute to those functional limitations such as posture, balance, strength, and coordination. Difficulties in these areas must impact upon student participation in their educational program and environment.

Who provides Physical Therapy services in Edison?

Physical Therapy services are provided to our students through a contracted service provider (Tiny Tots).

ELIGIBILITY

How is eligibility determined?

When the evaluation is completed, eligibility is determined collaboratively at a meeting according to N.J.A.C. 6A:14-2.3(k).

To be eligible for special education and related services:

A student must have a disability according to one of the eligibility categories according to6A:14-3.5(c); The disability must adversely affect the student’s educational performances; and

The student must be in need of Special Education and Related Services.

The school district must provide a copy of the evaluation report(s) and documentation to be used to make a determination of eligibility to the parent (or adult student, when applicable) not less than 10 days prior to the meeting.

INDIVIDUALIZED EDUCATION PROGRAM (IEP)

What is an Individualized Education Program?

After your child is determined to be eligible for special education and related services, a meeting will be held to develop your child’s IEP. The IEP is a written plan that describes in detail your child’s special education program. The IEP should describe how your child currently performs and your child’s specific instructional needs. The IEP must include detailed and measurable annual goals and short-term objectives or benchmarks.

Who must attend the IEP Meeting

Except when a member of the IEP team has been excused from attending the meeting with parental consent in accordance with NJAC 6A:14 the following persons must attend IEP meetings:

Student, if appropriate;

Parent;

Not less than one general education teacher (to the extent appropriate), if the student is or will be participating in regular education;

Not less than one special education teacher (or special education provider where appropriate);

At least one child study team member;

Case manager;

School district representative;

Others at the discretion of the parent or school district; and

If transition will be discussed at the IEP , a representative of any other agency likely to provide or pay for services; and

You have the right to:

Copies of your child’s IEP;

Bring others with you to the meeting;

Record IEP meetings if you inform the other persons orally or in writing, prior to the meeting stating that you intend to record the meeting;

Record IEP meetings if you inform the case manager in writing prior to the meeting stating that you intend to record the meeting;

Have the IEP implemented within 90 days of the school district’s receipt of your consent for the first evaluation;

Have the IEP implemented as soon as possible following the IEP meeting;

Have the IEP reviewed at least annually; and

Have extended school year services considered by the IEP team.