Skip To Main Content
Nothing Less Than Excellence

Speech Specialists Information

Speech-Language Therapy in the Schools
 
"The way we communicate with others and with ourselves ultimately determines the quality of our lives" - Anthony Robbins
 
Speech-Language Specialists (SLSs) are specially trained professionals who have earned a master's or doctoral degree and have a state license and/or Department of Education Certificate.  They may also have the Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).
 
SLSs work with children in a variety of ways including combining communication goals with academic and social goals.  Service delivery varies depending on each student's specialized needs.
 
Children may be enrolled in speech sessions if their speech and/or language adversely affects their educational performance.  Areas of remediation may be Articulation, Voice, Fluency, Language or Hearing Impairments.  The child's speech and/or language must impact on their educational performance in order to be eligilble for services.  Should you have any questions about the process for referrals or wish to discuss your child's current program please feel free to contact the Speech-Language Specialist at your child's school.
 
Speech and language goals are most successful when there is carryover at home.  The links provided contain articles and activities which target specific topics in speech and language development.  These links and information sites will be useful in providing you with a better understanding of your child's program and ideas for carryover at home.
 
Good communication skills lead to successful speaking, thinking, reading, writing, and learning, and help students find success in all areas of life.
 
                                                              Speech and Language Specialists
 
 
STAFF MEMBER SCHOOLS PHONE EMAIL
MICHELE BARASCH WASHINGTON 732-650-5280 Michele.Barasch@edison.k12.nj.us
GINA BELLANCA MENLO PARK 732-452-2910 Gina.Bellanca@edison.k12.nj.us
JENNA CONNORS MARSHALL 732-650-5370 Jenna.Connors@edison.k12.nj.us
ANDREA COWART BEN FRANKLIN 732-650-5300 Andrea.Coward@edison.k12.nj.us
REBECCA CRAWFORD BEN FRANKLIN 732-650-5300 Rebecca.Crawford@edison.k12.nj.us
PATRICIA DELUCA LINDENEAU 732-650-5320 Patricia.Deluca@edison.k12.nj.us
SHANDA EDWARDS WASHINGTON/
EHS
732-650-5280/
732-650-5200
Shanda.Edwards@edison.k12.nj.us
JAMES FARLEY MARSHALL/
TJMS
732-650-5370/
732-650-5290
James.Farley@edison.k12.nj.us
 JULIE GENOVESE JAMS/
MENLO PARK
732-452-2920/
732-452-2910
Julie.Genovese@edison.k12.nj.us
ALLEGRA GREELEY EELC 732-650-5200 X5294 Allegra.Greeley@edison.k12.nj.us
MIRIAM KAFKER MLK/
WOODBROOK
732-452-2980/
732-452-2901
Miriam.Kafker@edison.k12.nj.us
JACQUELINE MINDLER FDR 732-452-2939 Jacqueline.Mindler@edison.k12.nj.us
REBECCA NESTERWITZ HHMS 732-452-2940 Rebecca.Nexterwitz@edison.k12.nj.us
MARISA RUPPEL EELC 732-650-5294 Marisa.Ruppel@edison.k12.nj.us
CAROLINE SCHARF MLK 732-452-2980 Caroline.Scharf@edison.k12.nj.us
APRIL SCURRY-MOUZON  JMP 732-452-2990 April.Scurry-Mouzon@edison.k12.nj.us
LAURA STANKO MONROE 732-452-2970 Laura.Stanko@edison.k12.nj.us
LAURA STORER JMI 732-452-2960 Laura.Storer@edison.k12.nj.us
 JEFFREY TOBIE EHS/
WWMS
732-650-5200/
732-452-2870
Jeffrey.Tobie@edison.k12.nj.us
LAURA TOSCANO JPS 732-452-2800 Laura.Toscano@edison.k12.nj.us
MARY WALWORTH MONROE 732-452-2970 Mary.Walworth@edison.k12.nj.us
JENNIFER WANDRAS LINCOLN 732-650-5270 Jennifer.Wandras@edison.k12.nj.us
MARLA WEIN LINDENEAU 732-650-5320 Marla.Wein@edison.k12.nj.us
SHELLEY ZAKIM EELC 732-650-5294  Shelley.Zakim@edison.k12.nj.us
 
 
 
The following are websites that might be helpful for your situation:
www.funbrain.com  - for activities